Perry Commodores top 2010 Courier All-City Football Team

first_imgAs usual a first team, second team and honorable mention team were selected for offense and defense, with three players being chosen on the special teams.Surprisingly the Brashear Bulls (5-3) picked up 14 slots followed by Schenley (5-3) with 10. Even though Allderdice finished second they had 10 slots. Every team was represented including Peabody (3-5) 5, Carrick (2-6) 4, Langley (3-5) 3, Westinghouse (0-8) 3, and Oliver (4-4) 3. As usual there were several players who made the team on both sides of the ball, but no one this year was on the first team offense and defense. The players making it were: Greg McGhee, quarterback and defensive back; Devin Ghafoor, wide receiver and defensive back; Shaquille Thomas, offensive line and defensive line; and Dontae Forte, quarterback and defensive back.The coaches and the beat reporter selected the team this year. The selection of McGhee as the best offensive player was almost unanimous whereas there were several players who got votes for the best defensive player with Ray Taylor, linebacker for Perry, beating out Deandre Black from Schenley and Jaylen Coleman, linebacker from Peabody.Joining McGhee on offense were his two wide receivers, Ghafoor and Eric Frye, and tight end Joe Arthur, with offensive lineman Ryan Shaneyfelt completing the 5 on offense.In the past the Commodores strength was the ground game but with McGhee at quarterback things were different this season as the air attack dominated their game. However, they were able to keep the defense honest with Chinello Oparanozie giving them a solid ground game this season. He and three linemen, Vidal Morgan, Jordan Clayton, and Nick Eritz represented Perry on the second team.Taylor was the only Perry player on the first team defense but seven of the 11 players on the second team were from Perry including Steve Wicks, Josh Visokey, Keenan Jackson, Beacon Blackwell, Leighton Hawkins, Ghafoor and Gerald Sherrell.Kicker Cody Magliocca, from Brashear, Deandre Black from Schenley and Manny Reed from Brashear were the best last season on Special Teams, as they were this season.With the closing of Peabody and this being the last season for Schenley students, the 15 players selected from these two schools will be the last.There are several players from last season’s team but no first team repeats. This year’s repeats are; Rasheed McKamey, Tyree Mathis, Deandre Black, Greg McGhee, Mike Pfleger, Ghafoor, Jaylen Coleman, Mike Barron, Dillon Semian, Steve Wicks, and Ray Taylor.The Coach of the Year was an easy choice. Gallagher has always been a class act even when the Commodores faltered in previous years, which had to have made this season sweet for him with his team moving back to the top. The name of the game is winning and his team was 8-0 in League play, beating everyone by large margins. He deserved the almost unanimous selection.Congratulations to all the members of the 2010 New Pittsburgh Courier All-City Football Team. The Perry Commodores once ruled City League football with an iron fist but fell to hard times, for them, the past few years. The Commodores moved back to the top in 2010 with authority as they easily disposed of all opponents to post an 8-0 record in League play. Their closest rival was Allderdice which finished 6-2. So with this in mind the New Pittsburgh Courier’s fourth annual All-City Football Team was dominated by Commodores, with 19 slots as well as all the special honors including: Coach of the Year Bill Gallagher, Offensive MVP Greg McGhee, and Defensive MVP Ray Taylor. GREG MCGHEE, PERRY QB , OFFENSIVE MVPlast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *